East Coast Aircooled
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

my first car

3 posters

Go down

my first car Empty my first car

Post  beetle_butler Sat Jun 30, 2012 8:02 pm

i've just joined the forum and also recently bought myself my first car which is a 1972 vw beetle (tax exempt:D). It is in need of restoration and i think im going to need a few tips as i am no expert.

I would love to have the beetle savanna beige but not sure if i will be able to afford to get it sprayed. I thought about spray cans but not sure if it is the right thing to do? if not i do love the rat looks, its just i've always wanted to own a beige beetle:p

Also i was wondering if someone could help me with my dash and what to do, im not sure if i need to get a new dash from a breaking bug or just cut it back up to get it to original? help please?

cheers:)

beetle_butler

Back to top Go down

my first car Empty Re: my first car

Post  Dubs and Classics Sun Jul 01, 2012 2:55 am

Hi BB

If you post up some photos of your bug and dash so folks can see whats going on We can advise you better, whats actually the matter with your dash? Very Happy

With paintwork though, you would probably better off hiring or borrowing a small compressor and spray gun and painting it in cellulose if you have somewhere to do it...the amount of rattle cans you need to get a decent coat will work out more expensive and wont give as good a finish...with a bit of patience and practise you can get a surprisingly good finish at home with celly, and its easy to flat and polish out any impurities when its done...remember though, with any paint job its all about the preparation....spraying over crappy un prepared paint and rust patches doesnt go well...

Good luck with your project and get some photos up dude! Smile
Dubs and Classics
Dubs and Classics
Admin

http://www.dubsandclassics.com

Back to top Go down

Post  beetle_butler Sun Jul 01, 2012 9:22 am